Text known to Bach (Weimar 1713):

In dir ist Freude/
in allem Leide/
O du süsser Jesu Christ!
durch dich wir haben
himmlische Gaben/
der du wahrer Heyland bist/
hilffest von Schanden/
rettest von Banden/
wer dir vertrauet/
hat wohl gebauet/
wird ewig bleiben/ Halleluja.
Zu deiner Güte/
steht unser Gemüthe*/
an dir wir kleben/
im Tod und Leben/
nichts soll uns scheiden/ Halleluja.



In you is gladness
amid all sadness
O sweet Jesu Christ!
Through you we have
heavenly gifts,
you who are the true Saviour,
you help us from shame,
save us from bonds.
Who puts trust in you
has built steadfastly
and will live for ever. Hallelujah.
In your goodness
our spirit rests;
we cling to you
in life and death;
nothing shall divide us. Hallelujah.


Melody and text: ? Cyriacus Schneegaß (1546-97) – Erfurt 1598. Contrafactum of Giovanni Giacomo
Gastoldi (c.1554-1609), A Liéta Vita – Balletti a cinque voci, Venice 1591

© The Orgelbüchlein Project. To use or reproduce any of the above, please CONTACT The Orgelbüchlein Project

The Print Collection

J S Bach’s setting of this chorale will be part of our printed Volume 1, due for publication in late 2023.

Orgelbüchlein Extended

A selection of alternative and more extended compositions commissioned to complement The Print Collection. These are available for download only. To view available pieces and purchase, click HERE

Orgelbüchlein Community

A selection of compositions submitted from all around the world.

This chorale is yet to be tackled by the Community!


Played on the organ of Lincoln’s Inn Chapel by William Whitehead