Text known to Bach (Weimar 1713):

Diß sind die heilgen zehn Gebot/
die uns gab unser Herre Gott/
durch Mosen seinen Diener treu/
hoch auf dem Berg[e] Sinai/


These are the holy Ten Commandments
which our Lord God has given us
through Moses, his true servant,
high on Mount Sinai.
Lord have mercy.

Melody: In Gottes Namen fahren wir, 13th century, adapted Martin Luther – Erfurt 1524
Text: Martin Luther (1483-1546)

© The Orgelbüchlein Project. To use or reproduce any of the above, please CONTACT The Orgelbüchlein Project

The Print Collection

J S Bach’s setting of chorale 61 is part of our printed Volume 3, now available for purchase.

Orgelbüchlein Extended

A selection of alternative and more extended compositions commissioned to complement The Print Collection. These are available for download only. To view available pieces and purchase, click HERE

Orgelbüchlein Community

A selection of compositions submitted from all around the world.

Chorale 61 is one of the few still to be tackled by the Community!