Text known to Bach (Weimar 1713):

Nun freut euch lieben Christn gemein/
und last uns frölich springen:
daß wir getrost und all in ein/
mit Lust und Liebe singen/
was Gott an uns gewendet hat/
und seine süsse Wunderthat/
gar theur hat ers erworben.


Now rejoice dear Christians all
and let us leap with gladness;
that we, confidently and all as one,
sing with rapture and love
of that which God has wrought for us
and his sweet miracle
so dearly bought.

Melody: Jobst Gutknecht (fl.1514-40) – Nuremberg 1524, contrafactum of So weiß ich eins das mich erfrewt
Text: 1523, Martin Luther (1483-1546)

© The Orgelbüchlein Project. To use or reproduce any of the above, please CONTACT The Orgelbüchlein Project

The Print Collection

The setting of chorale 85 was commissioned by the Very Reverend Dr John Hall, former Dean of Westminster and composed by Peter Holder. It is part of our printed Volume 3, now available for purchase.

Orgelbüchlein Extended

A selection of alternative and more extended compositions commissioned to complement The Print Collection. These are available for download only. To view available pieces and purchase, click HERE

Orgelbüchlein Community

A selection of compositions submitted from all around the world.