Text known to Bach (Weimar 1713):

Kommt her zu mir/ spricht Gottes Sohn/
all/ die ihr seyd beschweret nun/
mit Sünden hart beladen/
ihr Jungen/ Alt/ Frauen und Mann/
ich will euch geben/ was ich han/
will heilen euren Schaden.


“Come to me”, says God’s Son,
“all you who are now burdened,
heavily laden with sins.
Young and old, women and men,
I will give you what I have,
will heal your hurt”.

Melody: c.1490, contrafactum of Es ist nicht lang, dass es geschah
Text: Georg Grünwald (c.1490-1530)

© The Orgelbüchlein Project. To use or reproduce any of the above, please CONTACT The Orgelbüchlein Project

The Print Collection

The setting of chorale 90 was commissioned by the Finzi Trust and composed by David Matthews. Volume 4 was published in 2017 by Edition Peters. Copies may still be available via their website. The Orgelbüchlein Project plans to publish a revised Volume 4 in due course.

Orgelbüchlein Extended

A selection of alternative and more extended compositions commissioned to complement The Print Collection. These are available for download only. To view available pieces and purchase, click HERE

Orgelbüchlein Community

A selection of compositions submitted from all around the world.


Composed by David Matthews and played by Daniel Moult

Composed by David Matthews and played by William Whitehead at the organ of Lincoln’s Inn Chapel, London